Elisabeth Brauß
QR Code

Sign Up for the LCO newsletter

lco company mark



25 Sep 2020


7:30 pm

A New Path

Presented by John Suchet

Live pre-concert Q & A
on lco.co.uk, on YouTube and Facebook
Robert Max – Cello
Joel Hunter – Viola

LCO’s opening season concert
A New Path

Beethoven Sextet for 2 Horns
and String Quartet
Beethoven Sonata in E major,
op. 109

Beethoven Septet
LCO Principals
with special guest
Elisabeth Brauß piano

Join LCO for a thrilling all-Beethoven programme to celebrate the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth. This concert includes two of his larger-scale chamber works which in his lifetime enjoyed extraordinary popularity. First comes Beethoven’s Sextet for 2 Horns and String Quartet, a sunlit, virtuoso work written early in Beethoven’s career for the unusual scoring of two horns and string quartet. Next, the young German pianist Elisabeth Brauß, a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist, will perform Beethoven’s Sonata in E major, op. 109, from the composer’s lavish legacy for his own prime instrument, the piano (“The maturity and sophistication of her interpretations would be the pride of any pianist twice her age” – Gramophone.) The second half is devoted to the irrepressibly joyous Septet, a work that endeared the youthful Beethoven to all of Vienna after it was published in 1802. John Suchet, Beethoven expert and biographer, presents the concert, guiding us through the stories behind the music.

Don’t miss the interval performance from LCO Music Junction participants.

Watch this concert

This concert will only be available to stream online. Be a part of our digital audience and join us online via our website or YouTube channel.




The event is finished.