25 June at 7:30 pm

Airs and Organists

Chloé van Soeterstède, conductor of Airs and Organists, a London Chamber Orchestra online concert

Join us for the final concert of our 20/21 season

Chloé van Soeterstède takes to the LCO podium for the first time to conduct this online concert.

To begin, the concert opens with a beautiful addition to the repertoire. Concert Overture was written in 1873 by the Swedish composer and organist Elfrida Andrée. It is lavishly romantic and beautiful so, it may reach our ears for the first time in this programme, but not for the last. 

Next, step into the ethereal soundscape of Rhizom. Created by the emerging German composer, Annamaria Kowalsky, this creation is unique. In addition, Annamaria is a multi-media artist which drives their compositional approach. Listen out for the haunting sound of crystal glass ringing from the wings. 

Finally, LCO welcomes an incredible soloist for Poulenc’s magnificent Organ Concerto. This piece demonstrates the French composer’s brilliant textures and lyrical melodies. The SJSS pipes are brought to life by the British organist, conductor and presenter Anna Lapwood. This concert marks Anna’s debut with LCO and we are excited to welcome them to the platform with us.

Online Concert Programme

Andrée Concert Overture

Annamaria Kowalsky Rhizom

Poulenc Organ Concerto

Conductor Chloé van Soeterstède

Presenter/Organ Soloist Anna Lapwood

This online concert is free to watch but we welcome donations. Your generosity helps us not only to survive, but to thrive. Please click here to donate.

You can also enter our Centenary Appeal raffle for your chance to win amazing prizes!

This concert is generously supported by Arts Council England’s Culture Recovery Fund, The Garfield Weston Foundation & The Fidelio Charitable Trust.

Transforming lives through music
£8/month £80/annum